Board of Directors

President: Dr. Tanya Spencer (Edmonton)
Past President: Dr. Diane Dutton (Calgary)
Vice President: Simon Williams (Calgary)
Treasurer: Stacie Bedwell (Oyen)


Dr. Emma Climie (Calgary)
Dr. Juanita Whalen (Medicine Hat)
Rachel Williams (Edmonton)
Sabrina Graham (Calgary)
Nick Freeman (Calgary)

Ex Officio:

Michele Pentyliuk (Edmonton)
Judy Craig (Edmonton)

Chapter Representatives:

Heather Clarke (Edmonton)
Judy Windrim (Red Deer)
Lorrie Goegan (LDAC)

Executive Director:

Ellie Shuster (Edmonton)

It is an exciting time to be a member of the Learning Disabilities Association of Alberta as the association moves forward to increase public awareness and make a difference in the lives of people with learning disabilities, their families and their communities.

The main qualification to be a Board Member is a strong interest in learning disabilities and the desire to make a difference. In addition, a diversity of viewpoints is welcomed. Board elections are at the Annual General Meeting in Red Deer in September. Individuals interested in serving on the Board or one of its standing committees, are invited to contact Ellie Shuster, Executive Director, by email at or via phone: 780-448-0360.

Board of Director Openings
LDAA is has an opening on the Board of Directors and continues to invite expressions of interest. You will find information about the responsibilities of a board member here, the position description here, and the nomination form here. Please submit nomination form and accompanying information by email to